Don’t call me sweetheart- My experience with street harassment

I’ve experienced street harassment for much of my life. I often try to ignore it, suppress the resulting anger and continue with my day. I did this because I was unsure of how to respond effectively.  If I reacted it seemed to only excite the person. Instead I responded with silence and glares.

It was not until a recent incident, which seemed to encapsulate all other  experiences, did I decide to change and create this blog to help myself and other women find their voice to stop street harassment.

A Light Rail station. There are rarely any security officials on the platforms Source: Everystockphoto

 

 

Hey Sweetheart

I take the Phoenix Light rail to  ASU three days a week. Our light rail is on street level, so the platforms are  well-lit and public. Despite this I am on a slight level of alert when I take the light rail.

Several weeks ago, I was waiting on the light rail platform. It was 11:20 am on a Tuesday. After the typical rush hour period the platform was sparsely populated. I noticed two men rush across the street and jump onto the platform, but dismissed them.

Then, as I’m looking down at my book, I hear someone yell out, “Hey sweetheart!”

I look up, silently indignant that someone would say this and I see the two men who had just jumped onto the platform. They appear to be Hispanic and in their late thirties. They walk up to me and one sits down next to me and shakes my hand.

He then proceeds to try to sell me a bus pass, saying he and his friend need money to eat. I tersely explain this is not my concern. After repeated  refusals, he tries a different tacit and tells me I have a beautiful smile, even though I’m not smiling.

“Do you have a boyfriend?”

“Yes” (I lie).

“Girl you need to drop that motherfucker and get with me, I’ll treat you right.”

I grimace and say, “He treats me exactly the way I want him to.”

He finally gets up to leave, but not before saying,  “You dropped something-your beautiful smile,” and laughing at my confusion.

Immediately after this another light rail pulls up. A man gets off and hollers, “Hey baby girl, hey there baby girl.”

All I do is look down and shake my head no.

Maybe if I covered up like this I would be left alone Source: Everystockphoto

A Place of Rage

I was filled with  intense anger and frustration.  I didn’t know how to respond to these men, who thought it perfectly  appropriate to invade my personal space simply because I’m a young woman alone in public.

Even during this exchange I knew my response was wrong. I should have told this man to leave or walked away from them. This is not to implicate blame on myself or any other women who has reacted similarly,  for his actions, but I was disappointed in myself for not asserting my right to be left alone.

Assert Yourself

Stop Street Harassment has a useful list of assertive responses to harassers. However, before being able to respond this way you have to access the anger these incident cause and utilize it.

Realize that whoever is bothering you does not have the right to do so. Just because a person is in a public area does not mean they need to experience these types of interactions. You are allowed to tell a harasser to leave you alone. Try and take the anger and anxiety the person is causing in you and unleash it back onto them. Don’t bundle those feelings inside and ignore the person. Remember you are powerful and many harassers are cowards who will leave you alone if you talk back.

How do you respond to street harassment?

54 comments
  1. It really is annoying. This assumed privilege many men give themselves to invade your time and space, anytime, anywhere. On some days it has me seething with rage, the audacity some of these men have. The comments, the forced familiarity as they call you these names “baby”, “sweetheart”, “sweetie”, “shorty”, “honey”. Like, who the hell are you to talk to me with such a familiar tone and attitude? Go home and call your wife that. You don’t know me, and you are not my husband. Back the F’ off!

    Also, this insistence that you stop whatever you’re doing and give them your attention. This attitude that you MUST respond. Men would never do this towards other men, and they know it. But this power they feel they have over women makes them think that they can do and say anything they want to you and get away with it. No consequences. No repercussions. Life goes on and they just keep continuing on with this behavior from woman to woman to woman. If you were a man, you seriously would kick their ass.

    I’m so glad that this movement is alive and that women are beginning to wake up the fact that they don’t have to just put up with this. The more voices crying out “no!” and “leave me alone!!”, the better. The next (and most needed) step is to find a way to teach men and boys NOT to do this. It’s not okay. It’s not acceptable. It’s WRONG, and we’re sick of it.

  2. Exactly. Non-threatening comments such as “hello”, “how are you” and so on are perfectly fine. I don’t want people thinking women are aggravated every time a man merely speaks to them in public. The issue arises when the language used makes a girl uncomfortable or to incite reaction or is sexual; like “hey baby” or “nice legs sexy girl.” It truly is an invasion of our space and bodies because the men saying these things think our bodies are for viewer pleasure.
    You’re very right about teaching men and boys what exactly constitutes harassment and how not to do it. That will definitely be a near-future post. Thank you so much for your response New York Chica. Please spread my blog around and send my way blogs on this topic you like.

  3. click said:

    I was wondering if you ever considered adjusting the layout of your blog? It is well written; I really like what you have got to say. But maybe you can create a a bit more in the way of content so people can connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of wording for only having one or two images. Maybe you could space it out better?

  4. If you dont mind, exactly where do you host your web site? I am shopping for a good quality host and your blog appears to be extremely fast and up almost all the time

  5. Please email me with some hints & tips about how you made your site look this cool , I would be appreciative.

  6. account said:

    When I initially commented I clicked on the Notify me whenever new comments are added checkbox and currently each time a remark is added I get 4 email messages with the same comment.

  7. Wow! This website is awesome! How did you make it look like this ?

  8. I Am Going To have to return again when my course load lets up – however I am getting your Feed so i could read your web blog offline. Cheers.

  9. Hey, I just hopped over to your web page thru StumbleUpon. Not somthing I might normally read, but I liked your views none the less. Thanks for creating something worthy of browsing.

  10. buy fridge freezer said:

    If you could email me with some pointers on how you made your website look this good , Id be thankful!

  11. Have you given any kind of thought at all with converting your blog in to Chinese? I know a small number of translaters right here which might help you do it for free if you want to make contact with me.

  12. Jesus Christ there is a great deal of spammy feedback on this web page. Have you ever before believed about trying to remove them or installing a tool?

  13. After I open up your Feed it seems to be a lot of garbage, is the problem on my part?

  14. I Will have to return again whenever my course load lets up – however I am getting your Feed so i can read your site offline. Cheers.

  15. Hi, I just hopped over to your site using StumbleUpon. Not somthing I might typically read, but I appreciated your views none the less. Thank you for making something worthy of reading.

  16. You ought to really control the remarks on this site

  17. Wanted to drop a comment and let you know your Feed isnt working today. I tried including it to my Google reader account and got nothing.

  18. Do you have a spam issue on this web site; I also am a blogger, and I was wondering your situation; we now have developed some nice strategies and were looking to trade options with other people, be positive to shoot me an e-mail if interested.

  19. Do you might have a spam issue on this internet site; I also am a blogger, and I was asking yourself your scenario; we have produced some great strategies and were searching to trade options with other people, be positive to fire me an e-mail if interested.

  20. I have got one recommendation for your web page. It appears like at this time there are a few cascading stylesheet problems when launching a selection of webpages inside google chrome as well as opera. It is functioning okay in internet explorer. Perhaps you can double check this.

  21. Do youve a spam concern on this web site; I also am a blogger, and I was questioning your scenario; weve got developed some nice methods and were looking to swap options with other people, be positive to shoot me an e-mail if serious.

  22. extremely valuable stuff, all in all I picture this is worthy of a bookmark, cheers

  23. like said:

    I think one of your current advertisements initiated my internet browser to resize, you may well need to put that on your blacklist.

  24. How did you make this blog site look this awesome!? Email me if you can and share your wisdom. Id be appreciative!

  25. I experimented with viewing your blog on my cellphone and the structure does not seem to be correct. Might wanna check it out on WAP as well as it seems most mobile phone layouts are not really working with your web site.

  26. If you dont mind, where do you host your webpage? I am hunting for a very good host and your site seams to be extremely fast and up all the time

  27. The design for the blog is a tad off in Epiphany. Nevertheless I like your blog. I may have to use a normal web browser just to enjoy it.

  28. If you could email me with some hints & tips on how you made this site look this cool, I would be thankful.

  29. I tried viewing your site on my mobile phone and the format does not seem to be right. Might wanna check it out on WAP as well as it seems most smartphone layouts are not working with your web site.

  30. Im getting a small issue. I cant get my reader to pick up your rss feed, Im using bing reader by the way.

  31. If you dont mind, exactly where do you host your blog? I am shopping for a great host and your webpage appears to be extremely fast and up most the time

  32. Im having a teeny problem. I cant get my reader to pick-up your rss feed, Im using aol reader by the way.

  33. very helpful stuff, all in all I imagine this is worthy of a bookmark, thanks

  34. mlm said:

    pretty useful material, overall I picture this is worthy of a bookmark, cheers

  35. success said:

    Wanted to drop a remark and let you know your Feed isnt working today. I tried adding it to my Google reader account and got nothing.

  36. I Am Going To have to return again when my course load lets up – nevertheless I am getting your Rss feed so i can go through your site offline. Thanks.

  37. If you could message me with a few hints about how you made your blog look this good , I would appreciate it!

  38. sponsor said:

    Re: Whoever made the remark that this was a great web site genuinely needs to have their brain analyzed.

  39. Wanted to drop a comment and let you know your Feed isnt functioning today. I tried adding it to my Google reader account but got absolutely nothing.

  40. next said:

    Almost all of the opinions on this site dont make sense.

  41. privacy said:

    This blog site has got some very helpful info on it! Thank you for informing me.

  42. Debra said:

    Greetings from Idaho! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to check out your blog on my iphone during lunch
    break. I really like the info you present here and can’t wait to take a look
    when I get home. I’m surprised at how fast your blog loaded on my mobile ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, wonderful site!

Leave a Reply

